> Configuration > Mobile Device Management > Mobile Device Management Frequently Asked Questions

Mobile device management frequently asked questions

What happens if notifications are declined?

If a mobile device user installs the Mobile Device Management (MDM) application and declines permission for the app to receive notifications from MSP N-central, they will have to delete the application from the device, wait 24 hours, and re-install the application to be prompted to provide this permission again.

How does the iOS Agent determine the device's location?

The location of my Android device has changed, why hasn’t it changed in MSP N-central?

The Android MDM Agent checks the location of the device once per hour and reports a new location to MSP N-central if a new location differs significantly from the previously-reported previous location or it has been more than 24 hours since the last location was submitted.

Why do I not see location data for mobile devices even though I have enabled tracking in MSP N-central?

The MDM Agent cannot report the locations of mobile devices if the user disabled this feature directly on the device itself. For privacy protection, mobile device users have the capability to disable location tracking, which overrides tracking in MSP N-central.

Why can’t the MDM Agent application be uninstalled from an Android device?

To perform certain MDM activities, the MDM Agent application is installed with device administrator privileges. To remove the application from the device, one of the following steps must be performed:

  • Remove the Remote Management profile from within the app before uninstalling; or,
  • Deactivate the MDM Agent as a device administrator from within the device’s security settings.

After performing one the above, the application can then be removed from the device.

Why are settings still present after removing a Profile?

Removing the Profile removes the requirement to apply the settings as configured in the Profile. When a Profile is removed, any settings configured by the user will not be removed.